

News Release

For Immediate Release

Farm & Food Care Ontario elects 2018-2019 Board of Directors

(Guelph) April 11, 2018 – Election of Farm & Food Care Ontario's (FFCO) 2018-2019 Board of Directors and executive has taken place. Moving to the helm of the organization is chair Christine Schoonderwoerd, nominated to the board by Wallenstein Feed & Supply Ltd. She replaces Brian Gilroy, nominated by Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers Association, who steps into the role of past chair.

FFCO's new vice chairman is Dave McEachren, nominated by Grain Farmers of Ontario. Chris Cossitt of Ontario Pork moves into the role of second vice chairman and Jim Gowland of the Ontario Bean Growers was re-elected as treasurer.

Schoonderwoerd said, "I am very excited to be stepping into the role of Chair of Farm & Food Care Ontario. Our organization has a very important role to play in Ontario's agricultural industry, and I'm looking forward to working with the board and our members to further our mission of earning public trust in food and farming".

The membership of FFCO elected four new directors to the board at the organization's AGM on April 11. Newly elected directors in the board's At Large and Livestock categories include:

- Crispin Colvin, nominated by Ontario Federation of Agriculture
- Ed Scharringa, nominated by Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario
- Bonnie den Haan, nominated by Dairy Farmers of Ontario
- Jordan Fois, nominated by Chicken Farmers of Ontario

Two returning directors in the crop category were acclaimed:

- Joe Hickson, Ontario Seed Growers' Association
- Dave McEachren, Grain Farmers of Ontario

Other members of the Board of Directors include:

- Janelle Caldwell, Egg Farmers of Ontario
- Chris Cossitt, Ontario Pork
- Brian Gilroy, Ontario Fruit & Vegetable Growers' Association
- Jim Gowland, Ontario Bean Growers
- Les Nichols, Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association
- Christine Schoonderwoerd, Wallenstein Feed & Supply Ltd.

Dave Cavanagh of Beef Farmers of Ontario will serve as chair of the Farm Animal Advisory Council and Brendan Byrne of Grain Farmers of Ontario will serve as chair of the Farm

Environment Advisory Council.

Retiring directors Bruce Christie, Nutreco Canada and John Maaskant, Chicken Farmers of Ontario, and were recognized for their decades of service to the organization and its predecessor organizations. Bruce Christie was first elected to the board of the Ontario Farm Animal Council (OFAC) in 1997 and served as OFAC chair from 1999 to 2002. John Maaskant was first elected in April of 1999, served as chair of OFAC from 2003 to 2011 and FFCO chair from 2012 to 2016. Outgoing directors Sandi Brock of Ontario Sheep Farmers and Heather Copland of Grober Nutrition Inc. were also thanked for their significant contributions.

-30-

Farm & Food Care Ontario brings together tens of thousands of farmers and related businesses with a mandate to provide credible information on food and farming in Ontario. To learn more about Farm & Food Care Ontario or to support the organization's efforts, visit www.FarmFoodCareON.org.

For more information contact:

Madeline Rodrigue, Communications Coordinator,
(519) 837-1326 | madeline@farmfoodcare.org

Christine Schoonderwoerd, FFCO Chair, 519-274-5412; christines@wfs.ca