

News Release

For Immediate Release

Bonnie den Haan re-elected Chair of FFCO

Farm & Food Care Ontario elects 2021-2022 Board of Directors

(Guelph) April 29, 2021 – Election of Farm & Food Care Ontario's (FFCO) 2021-2022 executive took place this week. Remaining at the helm of the organization is chair Bonnie den Haan, nominated to the board by Dairy Farmers of Ontario.

Also continuing in their roles are Crispin Colvin, nominated by Ontario Federation of Agriculture, as first vice chair, and second vice chair Janelle Caldwell, nominated by Egg Farmers of Ontario. John Taylor, nominated by the Ontario Mutual Insurance Association, has been newly elected as treasurer.

Chair Bonnie den Haan said, "I am grateful for my fellow board members and our staff team whose passion and creativity ensured an exciting and successful year for the organization. As I begin my second year as chair, I reflect on how far this organization has come, enjoying the fruits of trees planted by past boards and feel optimistic that the best is yet to come."

Vice Chair Crispin Colvin added, "I look forward to a second year in the role of vice chair and to working with the board and our members across agriculture to further our mission of earning public trust in food and farming in Ontario."

At the organization's online annual business meeting on April 8, the voting membership of FFCO approved the slate of directors to the board.

Newly elected directors in the board's Livestock, Crop/Hort and At Large categories and their nominators include:

- Quintin McEwen, Ontario Sheep Farmers
- Holly McGill, Wallenstein Feed & Supply Ltd.
- Jennifer Mitchell, Mushrooms Canada
- John Taylor, Ontario Mutual Insurance Association

Returning members of the Board of Directors include:

- Richard Blyleven, Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario
- Josh Boersen, Grain Farmers of Ontario
- Janelle Caldwell, Egg Farmers of Ontario
- Crispin Colvin, Ontario Federation of Agriculture
- Bonnie den Haan, Dairy Farmers of Ontario
- Jordan Fois, Chicken Farmers of Ontario
- **Brian Gilroy**, Ontario Fruit & Vegetable Growers' Association
- Joe Hickson, Ontario Seed Growers' Association

• Jason Leblond, Beef Farmers of Ontario (Ex Officio)

Steven Vanderzanden from Turkey Farmers of Ontario and Gordon Stock from the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers' Association serve as chairs of FFCO's two member advisory councils and also sit as ex officio members of the board.

Retiring directors Chris Cossitt, Ontario Pork; Jim Gowland, Ontario Bean Growers; Heather Hargrave, Trouw Nutrition Canada Inc.; and past chair Christine Schoonderwoerd, Wallenstein Feed & Supply Ltd. were recognized for their years of service and commitment to the organization.

-30-

Farm & Food Care Ontario is a coalition of farmers and food partners proactively working together to build public trust and consumer confidence in our food and farming systems. For more information visit: www.FarmFoodCareON.org.

For more information contact:

Kelly Daynard, FFCO Executive Director, 519-837-1326, ext. 224; kelly@farmfoodcare.org;

Bonnie den Haan, FFCO Chair, 705-440-7454; bonnie.denhaan@milk.org

Crispin Colvin, FFCO Vice Chair, 519-868-7317; crispin.colvin@ofa.on.ca